## BAXTER COUNTY QUORUM COURT JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

**January 3, 2023** 

The Baxter County Quorum Court met in its first regular meeting of the new year at 6:00 PM in the Baxter County Courtroom with newly elected County Judge Kevin Litty presiding. Members present were: Rhonda "Tink" Albright, Ty Chapman, Cameron Davis, Angela DeGroote, Maryanne Edge, Dennis Frank, Charles Osgood, Roger Steele, Rick Steiner, and Shannon Walker. Justice Dirk Waldrop was not in attendance. The meeting began by Judge Litty welcoming the two newest members of the Court, followed by a moment of silent prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Judge Litty asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes of the December meeting. Being none, Justice Edge moved to adopt the minutes as presented. Justice Albright seconded that motion, and all voted in favor.

County Treasurer Jenay Mize gave a Treasurer's report.

There were no Committee Reports.

New Business:

Judge Litty asked that the agenda be amended to add an ordinance and an additional resolution. Justice Davis made that motion to amend, and Justice Albright seconded it. All voted in favor of adding the two additional items.

Justices were asked to select their 2023 delegate to the Arkansas Quorum Courts Association. Justice Dennis Frank volunteered to represent Baxter County in that Association, and all voted in favor of his delegation.

Ordinance #2023-1, AN ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES FOR THE BAXTER COUNTY QUORUM COURT FOR FISCAL YEARS 2023 AND 2024, was sponsored by Justice Steele and read by title only by County Clerk Canda Reese. Justice Steele made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, and Walker. The motion carried, and the Procedural Ordinance #2023-1 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Ordinance #2023-2, AN ORDINANCE DESIGNATING THE BAXTER COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT AS THE COLLECTOR OF ALL FINES ASSESSED IN CIRCUIT COURT AND ALL COUNTY FINES ASSESSED IN DISTRICT COURT, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Walker, and Albright. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2023-2 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-3, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FEES AND REIMBURSEMENTS RECEIVED IN THE MONTH OF NOVEMBER TO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 2022 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Osgood moved to adopt, seconded by Justice DeGroote. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Walker, Albright, and Chapman. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2023-3 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-4, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING \$36,400.00 OF REVENUE FUNDS INTO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 2022 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Davis made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Sheriff Montgomery spoke regarding the need for the proposed ordinance, but also requested that the ordinance be amended to appropriate the funds to the 2023 budget, rather than the 2022 budget. Justice Frank made that motion to amend the ordinance, and Justice Albright seconded it. Voting YEA on the motion to amend: Justices DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Walker, Albright, Chapman, and Davis. The motion passed. The amended ordinance was read again by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright moved to adopt the ordinance as amended, and Justice Davis seconded that motion. Being no further discussion the roll was called for the adoption of the ordinance. Voting YEA: Justices Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, and DeGroote. The motion passed and Ordinance #2023-4 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-5, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING \$60,000.00 OF REVENUE FUNDS INTO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 2023 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Osgood motioned to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, and Edge. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2023-5 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-6, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$12,555.76 FROM THE COUNTY GENERAL FUND (#1000) INTO THE TREASURER'S 2023 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justices Waldrop and Davis, and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Davis. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Steele, Steiner, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, and Osgood. The motion passed and Ordinance #2023-6 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-1, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE RE-APPOINTMENT OF ANITA KNACK BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE COTTER/GASSVILLE RURAL FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Steiner, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, and Steele. The motion passed and Resolution #2023-1 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-2, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF EDWARD HOLT BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE HENDERSON VOLUNTEER FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justice Steiner and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Steiner made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Albright. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, and Steiner. The motion passed and Resolution #2023-2 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-3, A RESOLUTION OPPOSING THE RE-OPENING OF THE LANDFILL IN BAXTER COUNTY, ARKANSAS, was sponsored by Justice Davis and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Osgood. After much discussion, and public comments supporting the resolution from both Dr. Rob Connor and Friends of the Norfork and White Rivers President Steve Blumreich, the roll was called for adoption of the proposed resolution. Voting YEA: Justices Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, and Walker. The motion passed and Resolution #2023-3 was adopted with a vote of 10 YEA, 0 NAY.

After other brief comments, and being no further business before the Court, the meeting was adjourned.

Canda J. Reese, Baxter County & Circuit Clerk

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary to the Quorum Court